World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers

H.E. Benigno Aquino III

H.E. Benigno Aquino III

President of the Philippines

Aquino is a fourth-generation politician and is currently the chairman of the Philippines’ Liberal Party. Born in Manila, Aquino finished his Bachelor of Arts (major in economics) from Ateneo de Manila University in 1981 and joined his family in their exile in the United States shortly thereafter. He returned to the Philippines in 1983 shortly after the assassination of his father and held several positions working in the private sector. In 1998, he was elected to the House of Representatives as Representative of the 2nd district of Tarlac province. He was subsequently re-elected to the House in 2001 and 2004. In 2007, having been barred from running for re-election to the House due to term limits, he was elected to the Senate in the 14th Congress of the Philippines.

On September 9, 2009, Aquino officially announced he would be a candidate in the 2010 presidential election and on June 30, 2010, Aquino was sworn into office as the fifteenth President of the Philippines, succeeding Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo.

In 2013, TIME named him one of the 100 Most Influential People in the World.

Previous Events